top of page
  • Writer's pictureHannah Temes

Presenting my Research

December 5th, 2022


This week, I will be presenting my research at the McNair Scholar Research Symposium. This is the culmination of the research that I have been conducting since the beginning of the summer. But what makes for a good presentation?



Knowing your Audience- In order for your presentation to go well, you need to know your audience. For some presentations, you are presenting to people who already have knowledge about your field. You can use jargon and not explain things as much. For this Research Symposium coming up, however, I need to keep in mind that only my mentor and some of my family and friends know what my research really is about. This means that I need to give context and the importance of my research before I go into more detail.



Appearance- Another thing about giving a presentation is the appearance of the presentation itself. If it is hard to read, your audience will have difficulty following what you are saying. Make sure that your information is clear and that there are no distractions.


Order of Information- For presentations, the order of information matters as well. It would not make sense for me to give my findings before explaining my research's methods and limitations. This again will help the audience follow along with what I am presenting.


Practice- If you want your presentation to go well, you need to practice. It would not be prudent for you to just go up and give your presentation without having rehearsed before. You need to know your presentation inside and out-- like performing an instrument at a concert. The more I practice, the more prepared I feel.



Overall, it is important to be prepared when you are presenting your research. You should anticipate the audience having questions, which is why it is important to give context, know who you are presenting for, if the information flows, and if you have practiced enough. I am excited to present my research in a few days.


6 views0 comments
bottom of page